Showing posts with label Rants. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Rants. Show all posts
Tuesday, October 11, 2011
The Past 24 Hours
10:38 PM
I just need to whine, so this is where I do it. This is what the past 24 hours looked like for me.
Preview: THEY SUCKED.
I should have known something was coming because KB was latched onto George (her lovey) all day yesterday. Usually George never leaves the bed unless he's going with KB to the sitter. Yesterday, however, George got out of bed with Katie, went to the Commissarry with Katie, and never left her side.
While we were playing, I tickled KB and she laughed with her mouth open really wide. I noticed a few white spots on her gum beside the tooth that came in last week. I actually thought to myself "Uhoh, it won't be long before it starts again.." Little did I know how soon it would be.
KB goes to bed at 8:00. Last night she was up screaming.. not crying.. SCREAMING.. at the following times:
11:00 pm
12:00 am
2:00 am
5:00 am
7:00 am
With a final wake-up at 8:00. Holy smokes. We haven't had a night like that in a long time.
I had to leave first thing this morning, so Jason was on KB duty. He told me later that she wouldn't eat, wouldn't nap, fussed a lot.. Yaaaaaay, teething.
Why did I have to leave, you ask? For the dreaded 3 hour glucose test for Gestational Diabetes.
Sigh. I took the first test, the one hour one, last week, and it came back "slightly elevated".
-Side rant: Why do they tell you "slightly elevated" as if there might be some hope that it was a little bit false? Just tell me it was high, dang it. The end result is the same.
So today I went for the 3 hour test.
Poke 1 (baseline test, right arm) - no problem.
Poke 2 (hour one, left arm) - no problem.
Poke 3 (hour two, back to right arm) PROBLEM.
I guess the tech was afraid of going back into the sore spot on my arm, so she found a vein about an inch further down my arm. I have no idea what happened after that, but I nearly passed out. That's never happened to me before in my life! In the past 10-ish years of having blood drawn, I've never once had a single reaction. But I did this time! First of all, it HURT, which never bothers me. Secondly, my head went all sorts of blank and woozy, and I got nauseous. I sat for a few minutes and they brought me some water, and then I was ok. Since they could see straight into my car from the front room (and they knew I wasn't out there eating or something..) they let me go lie down for a bit. That helped tons.
Anyway, Poke 4 (hour three, back to left arm) - no problem there.
Then there was a whole afternoon of KB screaming and not eating. Fun times!
Not to mention, Jason is on nights for the next few days, which means I have nighttime duty all on my own during the worst time possible, teething. Blaaaaaah.
Labels:KB,Pregnancy,Random Ramblings,Rants | 1 comments
Monday, October 10, 2011
"My Mississippi" and Proposition 26
3:04 PM
DISCLAIMER: This is long!
There is a scene in the movie Anapolis where the main character is apologizing to his roommate for not performing very well at the Academy. He's afraid that since he's getting all sorts of attention for being terrible, that attention will fall onto his roommate as well, and he just can't understand why this guy would want to still be his roommate. The roommate stops him and this exchange takes place:
Twins: You want to know why I stay in this room?
Jake: Yeah
Twins: Cause Jake, you're my Mississippi.
Jake: I'm your what?
Twins: People who live in Arkansas, you know what their favorite state is?
Jake: No.
Twins: Mississippi. Cause Mississippi's the only thing that keeps Arkansas from being the worst state in the whole country.
Jake: I'm Mississippi.
Since Jason and I first got together, he's had a lot of fun calling me his Mississippi. He's so witty, that boy.
But it's true - Mississippi has some pretty awful statistics.
In 2010, Mississippi was the country's fattest state for the 6th straight year and Mississippi was #6 for the highest rate of teen pregnancy. Mississippi has consistently ranked among the worst for literacy as well. This is very sad, but very true.
However, to say that I'm proud of Mississippi is a huge understatement. It's rare that someone doesn't know that I'm from Mississippi after they meet me once or twice. I brag all the time. I love my home state, and I love the people that she has produced.
This bill, Proposition 26, however, is upsetting me.
Before I go any further, and before you read any further, I feel like I should disclaim that Proposition 26 is an anti-abortion bill, and I do not want my blog to become a place to argue. AT ALL!! Not even comments on Facebook.. this isn't the place. I'm also going to state that I am firmly pro-life, in any situation (except when the mother's life is in danger) and no argument would ever change that.
Now here's why I'm upset about an anti-abortion bill when I'm so adamantly pro-life:
Proposition 26 seeks to define personhood. It seeks to make Mississippi's constitution read that a person is a person, and has legal rights, from the time of fertilization. Read that again - fertilization, not just implantation. That means that the moment sperm enters the egg, a person with legal rights has come into being. Regardless of the fact that 40% of the time, that egg is never even reaches the fetus stage. Proposition 26 states that since a person has then been created, that person has rights. Such as the right to not be aborted.
Now I'll stop and explain why this is a bad thing in my opinion.
- It isn't just about abortion, folks. If this law was only about abortion, and had no unintended consequences, I'd be all for it. In fact, if there was a bill up for vote that strictly said "Abortion should be banned in all cases except those where the mother's life is in danger." I'd vote yes in a heartbeat. Banning abortion, however, is not the only thing Proposition 26 could do.
- Proposition 26 could make it illegal to purchase the Day After Pill, which is not an abortion pill. The Day After Pill prevents implantation. While I don't agree with people using it as a form of birth control, I could see where it could come in handy, such as in cases of rape.
- Proposition 26 could make women who smoke and drink during their pregnancies, and then happen to have a miscarriage, criminals.
- Proposition 26 could outlaw some other forms of contraception, such as IUD's. HELLO?! Mississippi has an incredibly high teenage pregnancy rate. We definitely don't need to outlaw any forms of contraception.
- Proposition 26 could outlaw certain types of genetic research and manipulation.
And here's the big one for me:
- Proposition 26 could make a doctor a criminal if he were to end a pregnancy or deliver a baby when the mother's life is in danger. There are situations where the baby's life may be at risk if he/she is delivered at that time, but the mother's life is most definitely at risk. For instance, pre-eclampsia, toxemia and you got it: HELLP Syndrome.
We were so blessed that KB was at a stage of development that she was perfectly healthy at 32 weeks, not just viable. But what if, God forbid, she had not been? Would my doctor have been a criminal for delivering her, even though it literally saved my life? Would I have been forced to endure a court trial after losing my precious baby?
While these scenarios are not specifically listed in Proposition 26, and are in fact, being argued against now, they could happen. These are the types of things that could take place further down the road as a result of Proposition 26 being passed.
So to my Mississippi readers I say, this is not JUST an anti-abortion bill. Please read up on it, and do your research before you hit the polls next month. Think about your future children and grandchildren, and what you may be causing them to suffer if you vote "yes". This bill is just one more thing that could make Mississippi suffer in polls with unfavorable statistics.
Credit:
I found a great site that lists out most of the arguments for and against Proposition 26, in case anyone would like to read it. It's also where I got most of what I wrote.
Labels:Random Ramblings,Rants | 6
comments
Subscribe to:
Comments
(Atom)
Grab my button...

Labels
Sub Wife Life
(72)
MilSpouse
(47)
Mommyhood
(32)
BF2
(26)
Pregnancy
(20)
Family
(19)
KB
(16)
Random Ramblings
(12)
Travel
(10)
Parenting is WORK
(9)
My Love
(8)
Hawaii
(7)
Guam
(6)
Craftiness
(5)
Friends
(5)
Preemie
(5)
Tennessee
(5)
Memes
(4)
EmilyGotCrafty
(3)
Breastfeeding
(2)
Rants
(2)
Weight Loss
(2)
BBC
(1)
Ole Miss
(1)
Radom Ramblings
(1)





